
Ooooh Fire... Fire Fire...! What we have here is the Al Fathah Bridge... Or used to be a bridge... Here is an example of being too good at something for your own good... Americans are good at a lot of things... Basketball (till last Olympics...) , Futbol Americano , frying twinkies and WAR... WAR! HUA...! WHAT IZ IT GOOD FOR...? I will let you answer that yourself... So we start a little war in a little country named Iraq... Send in the planes... We bombed the 'ish out of everything... Only problem is... maybe we went a lil overboard... We bomb this bridge because of lalalal tactical reason... They didn't think we would have to rebuild this country after we bombed it... to add fuel to the fire literally... This bridge is the main link of all the oil to the north (review prior blogs if you are still foggy...) to Baghdad... and some other important reasons... So not only do they have to fix this bridge... they have to find a permanent solution to getting the oil across... Hopefully if there is another Gulf War III we won't bomb this particular bridge... Because of it's importance... Now you know it is important... The U.S. Military now knows it's importance... The provisional Iraqi government know's its importance... Guess who else know's its... THE BAD GUYS...! So you can stop saying to yourself... man that thing has been burning since the war...?!?!?! No... We are trying to fix it... and the bad guys keep coming in and blasting our progress... Now to the title of the blog... We sent a (rough estimate) $50 Million plane to drop a bomb that cost a couple of G's... And did some damage... Some pissed off dude in a man dress and scarf for a hat plants a bomb that probably cost less than your cell phone and did some damage... Now... who win's...? Air or Durka...? (FYI: Durka is a term to describe almost anything over here... in this case the bad guys... it hasn't been deemed racially offensive... yet)
So naturally we had to get here... What does that mean boys and girls...? CONVOY time... This is steadily becoming a natural course of life over here but they never instill the same feeling... When you go on one of these things you are first pumped up... Got your gear on... Your coo ballistic shades... Your hi-tech 7.62mm proof vest... 270 rounds of enemy defeating lead... M-16A2 on ready... M-9 just in case... Boots laced and you are on your way... A fish in a giant armored fish bowl (uparmored HUMVEE) ... That is what it feels like... You look out and that is all you can do... If you ever have to get out of your fish bowl some bad shizzle just went dizzle... Your eyes look at everything... In a helicoptor ride you feel "higher", almost untouchable so you wave to the kids and enjoy the sites... In the HUMVEE (FYI never call a military HUMVEE a Hummer) it is lots of buisness... You don't wave... You don't smile... You look prepared... Everybody is potentially a bad guy... Every vehicle can kill... Any piece of trash has potential... So you are looking out of your fish bowl (you actually get a fish bowl effect cuz of the transparent armored glass... real thick) real hard... And all sorts of crazy thoughts go through my head... Like... Here we go... People walking... That person doesn't look to happy to see me... I can't believe I actually have a two weapons with rounds in the chamber... Is that vehicle sitting too low (VBIED Indicator) ... Woa the driver just went over the median (Convoy's don't stop) ... Do I have enough underwear for tomorrow... What was that noise... Man this guy knows how to drive (he is from New York) ... How did I get myself in this position... I wonder what Ilyne is doing... mmm burrito... A little warm in here... Eyes tired (amazingly you get tired) ... Don't close your eyes for Godsakes...! Going under a bridge eeeeeeeeeee... we made it... I wonder if she will love me like that again...? Why are those people standing like that... I hope the gunner is awake... This is where those guys got blasted... This country is dirty... We made it... I need to start smoking... what am I going to write about in tonight's blog... So yea... You think of the craziest stuff... at least I do... I am sure people handle it in different ways... Our driver is some cool Army Sgt from New York... Real tough guy... Took a suicide car blast a couple of feet from his door... But still drives his HUMVEE like a champ... Always feel like I am riding lady luck when he is my vehicle's driver... He is going home soon... He deserves it... Going to miss that lady luck...
Well I don't know who put the Jesus Juice in my comments box but my cousin and cousin-in-law were sure starting something... I think they need something bigger than a blog...
If you haven't smiled at someone today... you are wrong... have a good day everybody... I miss you... you too M-Lo... oh yea... don't forget... 2 creams one sugar...
In the practical art of war, the best thing of all is to take the enemy's country whole and intact; to shatter and destroy it is not so good.
-Sun Tzu, the Art of War

0 Comments:
Post a Comment
<< Home